Friday, August 21, 2015

Ranil Wickremesinghe sworn in as PM

UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe sworn in as the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka at the Presidential Secretariat a short while ago.

He was elected for the fourth time as the Prime Minster in the 2015 Parliamentary Elections. He topped the UNP Colombo district list with 500,566 votes; the most number of preferential votes at a parliamentary election obtained by a candidate. He served as Prime Minister for eight months when President Maithripala Sirisena appointed him following the victory of 2015 Presidential Election. Mr. Wickremesinghe had also served as Prime Minister from May 7, 1993 to August 19, 1994 and December 9, 2001 to April 9, 2004.

Former President and Kurunegala District UPFA MP Mahinda Rajapaksa attended UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe’s swearing-in ceremony as Prime Minister at the Presidential Secretariat.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails