Friday, April 18, 2014

UNP MPs attacked

Mobs threatened the group of UNP MPs that undertook an observation tour of Mattala international airport today (17), said MP, attorney Ajith P. Perera, a member of the group.

The group of MPs is to make submissions to parliament regarding the expenses for the Hambantota port and Mattala international airport.

MP Perera said they had to abandon the inspection when around 100 persons threatened his group at the airport.

Other members of the UNP group were Nalin Bandara, Eran Wickramaratne, Ajith Mannapperuma and R. Yogarajan.

According to our correspondents, mobs had manhandled the MPs and threw eggs at them near the administrative building of the port and also booed at and threatened the group as well as journalists present at Mattala.

Hambantota UPFA mayor Eraj Ravindra Fernando had been among those who had led the mobs, and armed with a pistol, he had ambushed the UNP MPs and the journalists.

Policemen deployed at the airport and the port had not mediated, said the correspondents.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails