Tuesday, January 13, 2015

New ministers sworn in

The Cabinet of Sri Lanka's new government was sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat in the capital Colombo. The President's new cabinet will consist of 27 members, 10 state ministers and 8 deputy ministers.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe has been given the portfolio of Policy Implementation and Economic Development. Economist and MP Dr. Harsha de Silva will be his deputy minister.

United National Party Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa was given the portfolio of Housing and Samurdhi while MP Ravi Karunanayaka has been sworn in as the Minister of Finance.

Jathika Hela Urumaya MP Patali Champika Ranawaka took oaths as the Power and Energy Minister.

Speaking at the occasion the President said as promised he has kept the cabinet to under 30 ministers. He said some may not be happy with their portfolios but asked them to keep in mind that this is a temporary cabinet that will be in place to implement his 100-day programme.

He said the government will hold a general election after the 100 days and a more permanent cabinet will be appointed.

Following is the list of Cabinet Ministers and their portfolios: :
  • Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe – Minister of Economic Development and Policy Implementation
  • Ravi Karunanayake – Minister of Finance
  • Mangala Samaraweera – Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Sajith Premadasa – Minister of Housing and Samurdhi
  • Dr. Rajitha Senaratna – Minister of Health and Indigenous Medicine
  • M.K.D.S. Gunawardena – Minister of Land
  • Kabir Hashim – Minister of Highways and Investment Promotion
  • Arjuna Ranatunga – Minister of Ports and Maritime Affairs
  • Patali Champika Ranawaka – Minister of Power and Energy
  • Rishad Bathiudeen – Minister of Industry and Commerce
  • Gamini Jayawickrama Perera – Minister of Food Protection
  • Joseph Michael Perera – Minister of Home Affairs
  • Naveen Dissanayake – Minister of Tourism
  • Akila Viraj Kariyawasam – Minister of Education
  • John Amaratunga – Minister of Public Peace & Christian Affairs
  • Duminda Dissanayake – Minister of Irrigation
  • Wijedasa Rajapaksa – Minister of Justice
  • Rauff Hakeem – Minister of Urban Development, Water Supply and Drainage
  • Arjuna Ranatunga – Minister of Ports and Naval
  • Gayantha Karunathilake – Minister of Media
  • Palani Diganbaram – Minister of Estate Infrastructure Development
  • D.M. Swaminathan – Minister of Resettlement, Reconstruction and Hindu Affairs
  • Thalatha Athukorala – Minister of Foreign Employment
  • Ranjith Madduma Bandara – Minister of Internal Transport
  • P. Harrison – Minister of Social Services and Social Welfare
  • Chandrani Bandara – Minister of Women’s Affairs
  • Lakshman Kiriella – Minister of Plantation
In addition, Deputy Ministers were appointed as follows:
  • Harsha de Silva- Economic Development and Policy Implementation
  • Ajith P. Perera- Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Champika Premadasa- Industry and Commerce
  • Eran Wickramaratne- Ministry of Road and Investment Development
  • Wasantha Senanayake- Ministry of Tourism
  • Sujeewa Senasinghe – Ministry of Justice
  • Vijayakala Maheswaran- Ministry of Women’s Affairs
  • Anoma Gamage- Ministry of Irrigation
Ministers of State were appointed as follows:
  • Ruwan Wijewardene- Defence
  • Radhakrishnan-  Education
  • Palitha Range Bandara- Power and Energy
  • Rajiva Wijesinghe- Higher Education
  • Velayudhan- Traditional Industries
  • Faizer Mustapha- Estate Affairs
  • Nandimithra Ekanayake- Culture
  • Dilip Wedaarachchi- Fisheries
  • Rosy Senanayake- Child Development

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails