Sunday, September 16, 2012

Kumar Sangakkara is cricketer of 2012

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara won the Cricketer of the Year 2012 award and two other key awards at the annual ICC awards ceremony in Colombo today (Sept. 15).

The other two awards won by him are Test Cricketer of the Year after beating off competition from South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, and Australia's Michael Clarke. Sangakkara also won the People's Choice award, an honour he had received last year too.

Meanwhile, Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena has won the David Shepherd trophy for the Umpire of the Year at the ICC Awards ceremony. The other nominees were five-time winner Simon Taufel, three-time winner Aleem Dar, along with New Zealand's Billy Bowden, England's Richard Kettleborough and Australia's Rodney Tucker.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails