Monday, March 19, 2012

Kandy Night Races 2012 Photos

The second night street races organized by the Kandy Off Road Adventure Club, Sri Lanka Motor Cycle Club and the Kandy Municipal Council with the support of the Ministry of Sports worked off in the streets of Kandy last night of March 17th commenced at 7.30 pm.

The media coordinator for the event John Baskaran of the Kandy Off-Road Adventure Club said that a total of 17 events will be worked off in the streets of Kandy which illuminated with a special lighting system in addition to the street lamps.

John Baskaran said that when the races were conducted for the first time in Sri Lanka last year, the Start and Finish was opposite the Queens Hotel and was downhill first. But this time it has been relocated along Yatinuwara Veediya opposite the Army Camp to give the competitors a chance to speed up in this flat and straight stretch. Apart from this the stretch of road at this point is wide.

The President of the Kandy Off Road Adventure Club Chula Ratwatte said that 134 high powered electric bulbs of 2,000 watt capacity installed at key places to light up the streets in addition to the normal street lamps. Ten generators will be used to generate the extra power required to light up the streets. Already the extra lamps have been installed.

Thusith de Silva said that the distance of a lap will be 1.6 kilometres. The start will be at Yatinuwara Veediya and proceed along Hill Street, Municipal Junction, D S Senanayake Veediya, turn off at Cross Street, Kotugodella Veediya, Colombo Street, D S Senanayake Veediya, Dalada Veediya and to the finish at Yatinuwara Veediya.

The Secretary of the Kandy Off Road Adventure Club Rohan Dhammapala said that already stacking of the sand bags on the race route has begun with the help of the Sri Lanka Army and the Police as filling, transporting and stacking 26,000 sand bags is no easy task.

Also helping in the organising of this event are Mayor of Kandy Mahen Ratwatte, Deputy Mayor Sena Dissanayake and club members Kushan Wekadapola, Ravin Soysa, Errol Kemps, Roshan Bambaradeniya, M Ziaffudin.

M Arthmalingam  the Cordinating Secretary of the Sri Lanka Motor Cycle said some of the top racing drivers and riders have entered this race. The Super Cars event has received 15 entries which is good and a very keen contest is expected. Among the top drivers who have entered the night races are Dinesh Deheragoda, Rizvi Farouk, Shaffraz Junaid, Nalaka Dias, Janaka Dias, Pasindu Peiris, Ashane Silva, Nigel Perera, Tharindu Lokuge, Dhammika Peiris, Upulwan Serasinghe, Israq Wahab, Javid Wahab, Mahen Madugalle, Sujeewa and Sachith Pathirana.

also  two persons who attempted to abduct two females who had come to watch Kandy Night Races were arrested by the Kandy Police yesterday. The two men were from Nuwaraeliya, Hawaeliya. The police are conducting further investigations into the incident.

 Photographer :  Hasith Prasanga Athukorala

More Photos

Kandy Night Races 2012 Photos

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails